Leadership Conference – Thank You!

On behalf of all SOPA staff, thank you for attending our Annual Leadership Conference at the Penn Stater in State College, PA!

We hope that you found the conference to be informative and worthwhile. The primary goal of this conference was to bring volunteers, staff, and athletes together to learn how to work hard to achieve our collective goals over the next year.

We hope that our varied sessions and guest speakers provided insight and practical tools for you to take back to your programs as you start your Special Olympics year. Your attendance helped to make this event a great success and your interest and positive spirit helped to make our time together both creative and fun.  

Information on the Conference Sessions and presentations can be found on the SOPA website. - https://specialolympicspa.org/events/leadership-conference

SAVE THE DATE! - 2020 Leadership Conference

August 29-30, 2020

The Penn Stater Hotel & Conference Center


2019 Special Olympics Pennsylvania Award Winners!

2019 – Hall of Fame

Athletes – Hall of Fame

Corey Markle – York

Nina Kaneriya - Columbia/Montour

Volunteers – Hall of Fame

Herbert H. Packer III - Area M

Bellamarie Bregar - Centre County

2019 - Leadership Awards:

  • Program of the Year: Washington
  • Coach of the Year: Debra Gable – York
  • Female Athlete of the Year: Emily Mazur – Alleghany
  • Male Athlete pf the Year: Christopher Branda – Northampton/Snyder
  • Volunteer of the Year: Stacy Plumbo – Philadelphia

2019 – Torch Award

Montgomery County